So it's another new year. Makes me start to think of a possible resolution. Of course the most common one I'm sure is to lose weight. This is certainly the one my mind goes to every year. However, I've decided to change my thinking this year. No more resolutions for me....because I never do them anyway, and then I just feel like a loser. Want some examples?
One year, after having twins, I was determined that I would get my flat stomach back...determined I tell you. I was going to do sit ups, how hard could they be. Being a reasonable and realistic person, I decided to start with 10. I knew my limitations, I was not in good shape, and had just 6 months earlier delivered twins by c-section; I knew it was best to take it easy. Buuut, really, how hard could some sit ups be? I would do 25...just for starters. So I set to it. That first day was my last day doing sit ups. By the time I got to #3, out of 25, I was feeling light headed, nauseous, and was pretty sure I was about to come down with a migraine.
That was my first serious New Years Resolution FAIL.
Another year, I was going to start running. How hard could a little jog be? I would just job around my neighborhood...I think it was about a fourth of mile loop. So I started out. By the time I got to the corner I was pretty sure I was going to throw up and then pass out right there in the street. It's probably important to mention that I live three houses from the corner....sad, I know.
That was FAIL #2
Next on my list of grand ideas was the P90X workout DVDs. They don't look that hard on the TV, right? I can go at my own pace really, the guy says to do as much as I can, not as much as he is doing. I was so excited, I was all in. I was finally going to be skinny again.
Has anyone else tried P90X? It's pretty hard, rather hard I would probably say. Hard enough that I started crying in the middle of the first DVD. In my defense it was really, really, really hard. However, I don't think my hubby has ever been more ashamed to be married to me.
That was FAIL #3
We don't even really need to get into the other attempts. Me flailing my rhythmically challenged body around trying to do step aerobics, how my hubby found out that our treadmill had been left in the rain when he went to get on it and it just would go faster and faster (this is a dangerous situation for a...uh...hubby who has...uh...not kept in the best of shape), and I'm sure I don't need to tell you how badly I failed when I thought I could lose weight by cleaning the house quickly. (I think those How Clean Is Your House ladies are full of it!)
In light of all this I am going to do things different this year. I'm just going to go on with it. If I start some sort of exercise, GREAT...if not, well hopefully I'll be less disappointed with myself this time.
Besides, I'm not willing to give up my "I just had twins....5 years ago" excuse just yet. I think it still has a few good years left in it!
Wednesday, January 6, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment